The School of Nursing was originally established as a Department of Nursing. The Georgia Board of Regents approved the Bachelor of Science in nursing in 1968, the master’s degree in nursing in 1973, and the Ph.D. in nursing in 1986.

The school contributes to the university through high quality programs in nursing with approximately 500 students in the baccalaureate, master’s and Ph.D. programs.

The faculty has grown to a cadré of approximately 40 full time and 20 part time nurse-educators. These individuals are highly skilled with a variety of clinical backgrounds, research initiatives and service activities.

In 2003 the school was named the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing in honor of then Bank of America CEO Ken Lewis’ mother. Mrs. Lewis spent her career as a bedside nurse and her son’s substantial gift to Georgia State University continued her legacy in the school’s name.

In 2011, the College of Health and Human Sciences (home college of the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing) was dissolved and the school became the Byrdine F. Lewis School of Nursing and Health Professions.

The school is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and is approved by the Georgia Board of Nursing.